A Guest Post: Author M L Moos

This past week, I had the pleasure of interviewing on M L Moos’ blog and thought I’d return the favor by featuring one of her blogs here. She’s one awesome lady!

4 Fantasy Novels Sci-Fi Fans Will Love

Though Science Fiction and Fantasy are often lumped together, they are as different from each other as pie is from cake. Fantasy is all about magic and mythical creatures, Sci-Fi is all about spaceships and futuristic technology. (Yes, there are many books which combine these elements, but I’m not talking about those right now.)

Many fans of Science Fiction also enjoy Fantasy, just as many fans of pie also enjoy cake. However, for many others, Fantasy has left a bad taste. To those fans, I give you a list of four fantasy books I dare you to dislike. After all, as our mothers would say, “How do you know you won’t like it if you don’t try it?”

Artemis Fowl

Twelve-year-old Artemis is a millionaire, a genius and above all, a criminal mastermind. But Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of the bedtime stories, they’re dangerous! Full of unexpected twists and turns, Artemis Fowl is a riveting, magical adventure.

If you like snarky evil geniuses, look no further than this exciting series of middle grade books. But don’t let his age deter you. He’s a young Sherlock Holmes, with all the anti-hero awesomeness fans of Arthur Conan Doyle love. Artemis might be rude and flaunt his superior intelligence at every opportunity, but he does it with flair. Though he’d rather have needles shoved beneath his fingernails than admit it, at his core, he wants the same things all lonely little boys want: family and friendship. He just uses unorthodox methods to get them.

The False Prince: The Ascendance Trilogy book 1

In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point – he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner’s sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

This one is a bit more medieval than Artemis, but the characters are just as gritty and tough as anyone on Adam’s Gunship (see John’s books). They’re so gritty, in fact, that I often had to remind myself how young Sage is. But his difficult childhood doesn’t leave much room for innocence and play, leading to more maturity than his age would otherwise indicate. If you enjoy seeing tough characters overcoming enormous odds and defeating cunning villains, then this book is just right for you.

Storm Thief

Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Michael Grant, this darkly thrilling novel is a powerful blend of fantasy and science-fiction. Rail and Moa are two teenage thieves. Vago is a golem of metal and flesh. All three are are denizens of Orokos, a city scoured by chaotic storms that rearrange streets and turn children into glass. No one can enter the city, or leave. Until one day Rail finds a mysterious artifact that may hold the key to the secrets of the city – and the chance of escape. And so begins an impossible quest. Get ready for a breathtaking adventure.

I was gifted this book by a friend and if not for that I might never have picked it up. And that would have been a tragedy. I came to love this book in a way I never expected. It’s the darkest of the books on this list, but that makes the hopeful moments that much brighter. Rail is an unfortunate victim of the storms and Moa is his loyal companion. Together they take risks they never thought they’d ever be faced with. If you like dystopian books with a science fiction twist, then you’ll love this book.

The Final Empire: Mistborn book 1

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage – Allomancy, a magic of metals.

This series is by far the largest in scope as it is an epic fantasy. If you’re into the harder side of science fiction, then this one might suit your tastes best. The magic system is intricate and thorough without being too fantastical. The cast is large and diverse and Sanderson is excellent at pulling you into their lives and making you care about each of them as individuals as well as the huge task they undertake. If you’re looking for an intricate world to sink into and an epic battle to fight, then consider giving this book a try.

If you’re one of the many Sci-Fi fans who frown when a Fantasy book is recommended, I would challenge you to try out one or two of these suggestions. You never know. Maybe you just haven’t been served the right flavor.

Visit M L Moos online!

Published by bookcommander

The Book Commander. #bookcommander

Let the Book Commander know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s